About us

From 3 March you will find us at Löwenplatz 6, between the Bourbaki and the Löwendenkmal. The Löwencenter and City car parks are in the immediate vicinity. You can also reach us easily by bus or on foot in just a few minutes from Lucerne railway station. Now you can round off your errands in the city of Lucerne perfectly with a visit to our new Löwengalerie. Here you will find the opening hours. We look forward to seeing you! 

Press releases

Here is a small selection of press releases written on the occasion of the reopening of the Löwengalerie:

Lucerne newspaper
from 4 January 2021

Art bulletin 3/2021
Noted // Art Spaces Page 80

041 Culture magazine
Art March 21, page 38/39

Information material

Please help yourself:

Annual programme

Background

Short text

Poster

Press inquiries
please contact Andi Schnelli
andi@löwengalerie.ch
or phone +41 78 797 37 65

Vision

Aim of the Lion Gallery is to specifically promote promising young artists in the fields of painting, drawing, photography and sculpture. The focus is on art from Cuba and Switzerland. The proceeds are used to support the artists in Cuba directly and sustainably. This allows them to continue working in peace and to concentrate on their work. In Switzerland, the Lion Gallery is intended to be a springboard for young artists, with a focus on Lucerne.

The Lion Gallery organises exhibitions and happenings with art from both countries, thus stimulating cultural exchange between Switzerland and Cuba. The gallery, which is open to the public, primarily shows the diversity of Cuban painting in temporary exhibitions.

Cuban painting

The mostly strong, colourful pictures bring colour into Swiss everyday life; they convey joy and warmth and an insight into Cuban life. Supporting in the homepage www.artecuba.ch under the heading "Cuba" tells a lot of interesting facts about today's Cuba. The founder, Andi Schnelli, travels to Cuba several times a year to maintain direct contact with the artists and to add to the collections. The pictures are sold on the one hand in the online shop of the website www.artecuba.ch or with the possibility of a prior viewing in the new Löwengalerie in Lucerne. On display is contemporary Cuban painting, from the beginning of the 21st century to the present day - with a focus on mostly younger, not yet established artists. The spectrum of the collection ranges from abstract and expressive to naive and surrealist paintings, which are shown to the public in changing exhibitions. In addition to painting, photography, especially with Cuban "street art", also has its place.

Founder

Andi Schnelli, the founder of artecuba and the Löwengalerie Luzern, is an architect by training. His great passion is the bicycle and travelling. Since 1992 he has been to Cuba countless times, mostly on a bike. Partly privately, partly as a tour guide. Many of his experiences have been transformed into poetry and lyrics. In the publishing house editioncuba you can buy his book "cubanisado" about his experiences and adventures. In 2014 he added a new passion, contemporary art, especially expressive works by Cuban artists. Andi Schnelli (left) with the artist Pango.

Über uns

Ab 3. März finden Sie uns am Löwenplatz 6, zwischen dem Bourbaki und dem Löwendenkmal. In unmittelbarer Nähe sind die Parkhäuser Löwencenter und City. Sie erreichen uns auch bequem mit dem Bus oder zu Fuss in nur wenigen Minuten vom Bahnhof Luzern. Jetzt können Sie Ihre Erledigungen in der Stadt Luzern perfekt mit einem Besuch in unserer neuen Löwengalerie abrunden. Hier finden Sie die Öffnungszeiten. Wir freuen uns auf Sie! 

Pressetexte

Anbei eine kleine Auswahl von Pressetexten die anlässlich der Neueröffnung der Löwengalerie geschrieben wurden:

Luzerner Zeitung
vom 4. Januar 2021

Kunstbulletin 3/2021
Notiert // Kunsträume Seite 80

041 Kulturmagazin
Kunst März 21, Seite 38/39

Infomaterial

Bitte bedienen Sie sich:

Jahresprogramm

Hintergrund

Kurztext

Plakat

Presseanfragen
bitte an Andi Schnelli
andi@löwengalerie.ch
oder Telefon +41 78 797 37 65

Vision

Ziel der Löwengalerie ist es, gezielt vielversprechende Nachwuchskünstler im Bereich Malerei, Zeichnen, Fotografie und Plastiken zu fördern. Den Schwerpunkt bildet Kunstschaffen aus Kuba und aus der Schweiz. Mit dem Erlös werden die Künstler in Kuba direkt und nachhaltig unterstützt. So können sie in Ruhe weiterarbeiten und sich auf ihr Werk konzentrieren. In der Schweiz soll die Löwengalerie ein Sprungbrett für Jungkünstler sein, mit Schwerpunkt Luzern.

Die Löwengalerie veranstaltet Ausstellungen und Happenings mit Kunst aus beiden Ländern und regt so den Kulturaustausch zwischen der Schweiz und Kuba an. Die öffentlich zugängliche Galerie zeigt in Wechselausstellungen primär die Vielfalt der kubanischen Malerei.

Kubanische Malerei

Die meist kräftigen, farbenfohen Bilder tragen Farbe in den Schweizer Alltag; sie vermitteln Freude und Wärme und einen Einblick ins kubanische Leben. Unterstützend wird in der Homepage www.artecuba.ch unter der Rubrik «Kuba» viel Wissenswertes über das heutige Kuba erzählt. Der Gründer, Andi Schnelli, reist jedes Jahr mehrmals nach Kuba, um den direkten Kontakt mit den Künstlern zu halten und die Sammlungen zu ergänzen. Die Bilder werden einerseits im Onlineshop der Webseite www.artecuba.ch verkauft oder mit der Möglichkeit einer vorgängigen Besichtigung in der neuen Löwengalerie in Luzern. Gezeigt wird zeitgenössische kubanische Malerei, seit Beginn des 21. Jahrhunderts bis heute – mit Schwerpunkt auf meist jüngere, noch nicht arrivierte Künstler. Das Spektrum der Sammlungen bewegt sich von abstrakten und expressiven bis zu naiven und surrealistischen Bildern, welche in wechselnden Ausstellungen dem Publikum gezeigt werden. Nebst der Malerei hat auch die Fotografie, insbesondere mit kubanischer «Streetart» ihren festen Platz.

Gründer

Andi Schnelli, der Gründer von artecuba und der der Löwengalerie Luzern ist von Haus aus Architekt. Seine grosse Passion gilt dem Velo und dem Reisen. Seit 1992 war er unzählige Male in Kuba, meist im Velosattel. Teils privat, teils auch als Reiseleiter. Viele Erlebnisse verarbeitete er in Lyrik und Poesie. Im Verlag editionkuba können Sie sein Buch «cubanisado» über seine Erfahrungen und Erlebnisse kaufen. 2014 kam eine neue Leidenschaft dazu, die zeitgenössische Kunst, insbesondere expressive Werke von kubanischen Künstlern. Andi Schnelli (links) mit dem Künstler Pango.